I Will Never See the Sea

Image

I Will Never See the Sea

I will never see the sea
Once the harbor drops my sail
When the wind can only flail
My banner weak, the end of tales
I will never see the sea

I will never see the sea
The last ocean, the port is gone,
The sky has blurred through dusks and dawns
And my sightless eyes slow move on
I will never see the sea

I will never helm again
Call the anchor up, or berth
Stalk the keel, watch proud the girth
Teach a young sailor his worth,
I will never helm again

But oh, the last wave we saw,
Swallowed in its gaping maw
My ship, just like a flick of straw
It’s might beyond reckon or law,
Oh, but last that wave we saw

Took away my world, my world!
Set adrift, off course, and whirled
Crushed to bits, there sunk it swirled
Dragged into the netherworld
Took away my world, my world…

Now we walk the blind man’s fell
Stumbling through the sand and shell
Lead by naught but salt and smell
Keening guide more ships to dwell
Where we walk the blind man’s fell

Through dim, blue glare, meaninglessly
I scream and call my men to me,
Doomed here for all eternity
The phantom drowned sailors army
Oh I will never see the sea,
No, I will never see the sea

© CM
03.04.2013

Hello everyone! Day three of NaPoWriMo! I’d planned a different poem today, but then today’s prompt caught my eye. Do check it out, it might get your verses flowing too!

Sending an ocean breeze to you!

Cookie ❤

19 thoughts on “I Will Never See the Sea

  1. andy1076 says:

    Feeling like I’m standing at the mast of a galleon with you, heading to port 🙂

    Like

  2. Dear Calliopes Lyre
    It would make me a liar
    To say I didn’t love your poem
    If there were some
    Part of it that I
    Especially loved when it unfurled:
    “Set adrift, off course, and whirled
    Crushed to bits, there sunk it swirled
    Dragged into the netherworld”
    And I cannot deny
    That I’ll be waiting for your next ones with a heightened sense of expectation.

    Like

    • Dear Nikhil, you’re too kind
      And sweet, my nutty lil mind
      Blesses you for your impromptu
      Poem, it must’ve taken just two
      Minutes for you to write it down
      It certainly banished my frowns!

      Thanks so much!! =D

      Like

      • Now why would you be frowning?
        When you’re creating art
        With people emotionally drowning
        When you lay bare your heart.

        (P.S. This comment poetry is fun)

        Like

      • Ha, it was but a passing frown,
        Rest assured you wore it down
        Beat it up and wiped the floor!
        Threw it right out of the door,
        Now that the smiles have kicked it sore,

        Ps. I know right? =D
        That frown won’t show his face no more!

        Like

  3. PapaBear says:

    Shades of “Annabelle Lee” !!! I love the water, the sea, and the feel of a boat beneath me and this is absolutely a wonderful piece of work, Cookie. Any sailor who reads this would love it.
    Paul

    Like

    • Thank you so much Paul! A sailor who likes the poem, now that makes it real for me! Its been almost six months since I met the ocean, and how I miss him, lol. I’m happy you liked it! =D

      Cookie

      Like

  4. Poetkatie says:

    Great piece, well written

    Like

  5. Gorgeous rhymes, well crafted.

    Like

  6. Sand says:

    I already commented on the poem on SoP but I didn’t mention the sense of desolation it engendered or the fact that I love the illustration. I so enjoy the opportunity of reading you. You make every minute in this miserable chair worth the pain. LOL

    Like

    • Aww, thank you so much, Sand! The picture took me a little while to get right. I found the image in a muddy brown, and that was just… muddy. Even the ocean looked muddy, lol. A little poking and prodding though, and a glorious blue ship emerged. =)

      And thank you for reading. You make every minute of posting while running around like a drunk chicken worth it. Lots and lots and lots love to you!!! =D

      Like

  7. Madsies says:

    I could totally feel the Ocean Breeze! Lovely Poem Cookie! ❤

    Like

  8. […] I Will Never See the Sea (calliopeslyre.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

