The Wait

Image

 

 

The Wait

 

Hello, have you been sitting long?
Do you know how or why we’re here?
I cannot focus on your face,
But whispered murmurs I can hear..

I don’t remember how I came,
To be here, edge of nothingness,
I can’t recall what came before,
Nor what after, nor now, no less

It is almost past time to leave
I’d think I was already late,
If it wasn’t for the latches
That bolt across the barred gate..

So some more waiting, I guess
Is in order, a little while
A few moments we must wait more
Till the Key-keeper arrives

I have not met him till date, but
Somehow I look forward to
Shaking and taking his hand,
I feel it’s quite the thing to do

There is a vague opacity
Blurring the hemmings of it all
A certain dream like quality
As if the very walls would fall

The alabaster and the gold
Really do seem to catch the light
I wonder where the sky has gone
And why is everything so bright?

Oh wait, I think someone’s approaching
Smiling from the farthest side..
Well, who or what you are, be safe,
I think … it’s finally good bye….

 

 

©CM
06.04.2013

 

 Hello everyone, 🙂 

 

 I know I said I’ll try something un-prompted today, but it sparked a poem immediately, so here we are. The prompt for Day Six suggested we write a poem saying good bye, or about saying good bye. It’s a really flexible prompt, I’m sure a lot of you will be able to use it too! 🙂

 

 Also… There’s been a few more poems buzzing around in my head, unrelated to the prompts or NaPoWriMo. I’m not sure if I should post them while the daily poems are running, Will it be poetry overload? Or should I post them too? Do let me know whta you think. 🙂

 

 

Sending a fluffy cloud to you! 

 

Cookie ❤

15 thoughts on “The Wait

  1. Nice one, Cookie!
    I think you should post all the poetry buzzing in your head, it is the month of Poetry after all, the prime excuse for poetry overload!

    Like

  2. Sand says:

    An excellent poem about that in-between place. The waiting room to eternity. Good stuff.

    You undoubtedly post other places where the rules are different and you have no limits, I imagine, when posting here. Posting on SoP is limited to one poem per day, though. Wherever you post what’s rolling around in your brain I hope I get to see it. The more of you I read, the more I like.

    Like

    • Thanks so much Sand! That’s really reassuring to hear! It’s just that I’m scared of being a poem spammer lol, pinning posts up every hour. =P day before yesterday I wrote four, and today two extra. I think I’ll post another tonight. =)

      Thanks so much for reading, dear! ❤ ❤

      Like

      • Sand says:

        Since my poems tend to arrive in spates, a fistful and then nothing for days, I can understand that stance. When they’re flowing you just want to write and keep on writing and poems from those times, the times when the muse sings just for us, are more often, I think, the ones we want to share. I’m so glad I’m on your list so that I’ll get notification when you post.

        Like

      • Thanks, dear Sand. A surprise for you then, tomorrow morning.. =)

        Like

  3. Madsies says:

    Yo! I’d Love Coookie overload! Bring it on! 😀 ❤
    The Picture you used is as good as the poem, perfectly fits! 🙂
    Hail Cooooooooooooooooooooookie!

    Like

  4. Sahm King says:

    Reblogged this on The Arkside of Thought and commented:
    The mark of a master must be worn upon her forehead. Must read!

    Like

  5. […] The Wait (calliopeslyre.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  6. […] The Wait (calliopeslyre.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  7. […] The Wait (calliopeslyre.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  8. Lovely imagery. You have a skill for making your ideas clear without stating them baldly – it makes your poetry accessible and such a pleasure to read.

    In terms of your question. I’m saving my “extra” poems for after NaPoWriMo, but I don’t think that has to be a hard rule. Just follow your instincts. They are good.

    Like

Leave a Reply

