Your Pain is a Gift

pain

 

 

Your Pain is a Gift

 

Tripping over obstacles, it
Will teach you to walk.
Battered by what will crumble you,
Will turn you into rock.

And once you climb up on yourself
You’ll stand tall where you fell
Your pain is but a gift, my friend
So learn to use it well

The sticks and stones, the broken bones
That people talk about
They all will plate and iron build
Your armor inside out

So what threatens to harm, to hurt
You will break ere long
Your pain is but a gift, my friend,
And it will make you strong

And they will claw you in, maybe
They’ll even drag you down
But resilience and faith, my friend,
And fate will be your pawn

And you will fly, you will conquer
Like all, the stars will shift.
You’ll see it when you win, my friend
Your pain is but a gift.

 

 

©CM
09.04.2013

 

It’s been a long night, and promises to be a longer day. Still learning though, and still hanging in there. Day Nine of NaPoWriMo and I’m still psyched, woot. Hope you all are having a better time of it!

 

 

Strength to you,

 

Cookie ❤

 

 

 

PS. Those of you who caught the reference in the poem and picture, slap me five! 😉 😀

10 thoughts on “Your Pain is a Gift

  1. commaqueen says:

    You and your dark, beautiful, UPLIFTING poetry! Love it 🙂

    Like

  2. Madsies says:

    Wow, this poem is gonna be my Strength! 😀
    Cookie, besides giving me a pleasurable time….your poems are Inspiring. ❤ ❤ Glad Glad Glad.

    Like

  3. Madsies says:

    And Yeah the picture of course……;) *slaps you a high five*

    Like

  4. PapaBear says:

    It took me a while but I finally “got it”. You must remember I’m OLD !!!
    Nice job, Cookie.

    Like

Leave a Reply

