The Morning Ride

train

The Morning Ride

 

Out the moving train window I see
The trees nodding, waving away merrily.
Branches dotted with so many many greens
That no artist could ever have thought of, or seen,
A red brick house uphill standing tall
Daubed all year round in the colors of fall,
Wide open endless blue reaches of sky,
Cotton woolly fluff bunnies up high,
A lone white sheep grazing in the lush grass,
Rows of chrysanthemums on the overpass,
The odd car pulling up aside in the lane,
Companions for a moment and then lost again,
A spatter of rain from a mischievous cloud,
Spanked by the wind and then properly cowed,
Blows away giggling quiet as a feather,
A part of today and then lost forever.

©CM

Okay so I cheated a bit. I didn’t take a walk, as the prompt suggested. But the next best thing was a connecting train ride with an amazing view, so here you have it!  🙂

Love and light,

Cookie ❤

PS.  We hit 250 followers yesterday, and by happy coincidence it was also our fiftieth post. Fifty!!! I feel like an extra caffeinated cat on catnip!!!

party

Thanks so, so much guys!!! PARTY TIME!!!!      😀 😀 😀 😀 😀

ribbons

catandog

cake

well, cake anyway! =P

So cake and hugs all around!!! Two Hundred and Fifty of them!!!! 😀 😀

14 thoughts on “The Morning Ride

  1. Poetkatie says:

    The imagery is very strong I this piece, we take the journey with you. Congrats also, hope my blog is as successful as yours 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you Katie! 😀 I can’t take all the credit, it really was a lovely morning. And thank you so much! Tha’s such a sweet thing to say. 🙂 I don’t really have tons and tons of followers but the ones I do have are my friends already, and hopefully they think of me as the same. 🙂 I hope your blog takes off in a much bigger way!

      Cheers! 😀

      Like

  2. PapaBear says:

    Cookie, I really enjoy your descriptive narratives. I can close my eyes and be there…, hearing what you’re hearing, seeing what you are seeing. Fantastic !
    Paul

    Like

  3. ewdupler says:

    I enjoyed reading this quite a bit. The thing that stuck with me the most was your use of words of color. I especially liked the description of the red brick houses and relating them to fall.

    I really like your work so I nominated you for the Liebster Award. You can get the details on it at http://genesmusings.wordpress.com/2013/04/14/wow-i-was-nominated-liebster-award/

    Like

    • Thank you Gene! =) once again, I was just saying what I see, it was an explosion of color out there. There’s nothing quite like certain spring mornings, is there? Bright enough to call even a hardened winter person like me. =P

      And thank you so much! I’m honored that you thought of me. =)

      Like

  4. rarasaur says:

    Congrats on the 250 and the 50!!! 😀

    Like

  5. Madsies says:

    That was a really Nice Train Ride 😀
    Funny Cats!
    Congos!!!!!!! 🙂 Let’s Party! /(-_-)/ \(-_-)\

    Like

  6. Pri Ya says:

    Beautiful poetry and love the way you present them ,it really takes me into the scene ❤ best wishes !

    Like

  7. […] the morning ride A spatter of rain from a mischievous cloud, Spanked by the wind and then properly cowed […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

