The Dark Side of the Moon

seaweed

The Dark Side of the Moon

Oh this world was never so lost
Never was I so thrown away
Cast adrift off ancient shores,
Long forgotten, cast away,
In the melting light, the night
Ripples ‘cross the memories, of
Yesterday, tomorrow, and the
Last today on shadowed seas…

Where is the blue stone round my neck,
Where fell apart the thread of time?
Were you there with me, in me
Perfumed in the scent of brine?
Oh were I forgotten too
Amidst the driftwood, seaweed strips,
Oh this world was never so lost
As the wind on my salt kissed lips

As the passing of countless ships
The seekers went, the oysters said,
Diving deep to cold, clammy death,
Blue skeletons on sandy beds
We watched it all, we laughed to see
The albatross who flew aside,
The breeze, it whipped across our faces
We worked upon our love, all night..

You and I lay, languidly strewn
Upon this dark side of the moon….

©CM
29.04.2013

Day 29 of NaPoWriMo. A special thanks to the Dark Side poetry group, who’s name inspired this poem.

And to my friend Andy, Happy Birthday!! 😀

Moonlight to you,

Cookie ❤

 

 

 

 

prompt:http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/04/29/daily-prompt-dickinson/

12 thoughts on “The Dark Side of the Moon

  1. PapaBear says:

    When I read this I could feel a song with steel drums and a caribbean rythm, (ala Jimmy Buffet) and had visions of a Gulf beach, white sand and blue water as far as the eye could see, Sunset, moonrise, and the soft wonder of love drifting into my mind. Thanks for transporting me into a dream, Cookie.
    Paul

    Like

    • I’m so happy you liked it, Paul. I had something darker in mind, but well, these things have a life of their own. =P But a dream is exactly where I got it, and I’m happy you had one too. =)

      Like

      • PapaBear says:

        Isn’t that the magic of words and poetry though? Not every reader sees the same thing and sometimes even more than you wrote. I understood the “dark” part, Cookie. I just chose the other side for my dream.

        Like

      • I’m glad you did, really. You have sunlight in your eyes, and I’d never write anything to change that. =) Sweet dreams and good night, Paul! =)

        Like

  2. […] The Dark Side of the Moon | calliopes lyre […]

    Like

  3. Sand says:

    Sensual and very deep. This is a beautiful write, Cookie, gliding by as smoothly as that water but much thicker and richer. Oil, maybe, or heavy cream. Delicious.

    Like

  4. […] The Dark Side of the Moon | calliopes lyre […]

    Like

  5. […] The Dark Side of the Moon | calliopes lyre […]

    Like

  6. […] The Dark Side of the Moon | calliopes lyre […]

    Like

  7. Madsies says:

    Beautifully written Cookie. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

