My Beautiful Angel

20130605-214728.jpg

 

 

My Beautiful Angel

 

 

You say that your halo’s dusty,
But I don’t see the taint
You find a monster in the mirror
Love, not for the faint,
A lover not for the weak willed,
A force none can placate,
But even so, do you not see?
You are mine, my soulmate.

I know that you think that you’re fallen,
Or that you’re not pure,
Can you deny your tired wings,
Deny what they’ve endured?
Can you deny your battles fought,
Can you deny the pain?
Can you belie the hours where
Battered, broken, you’d lain?

Look at yourself, but through my eyes
Look at how bright you glow
Barely restrained and kept constrained
The aura power shows
My pulse flutters in palpable
Rhythms when you’re in sight,
Just look at yourself through my eyes,
You shine more pure than white

Just for a moment, see the scars
That you repulse, conceal,
Do you not see they mark you as
The one who won, and healed?
Just pause your tortured gaze over
The roses at your feet
And still your pearly hand over
My heart, for you it beats.

For you all my intricacies
Of thought, are sought, contrived,
My beautiful angel, you are
The reason I’m alive.
For you my breath goes in and out,
My blood aches, my will strives,
My beautiful angel, you are
The reason I’m alive..

 

© CM
05.06.2013

 

 

What can others see in us, that we cannot see in ourselves?

 

Pride, for one. Arrogance, conceit, smugness. Always the first and most easily perceived ones. Bitterness, resentment, anger, they’re pretty easy to detect too. And then, you have some others.

Strength. Grit. Hope. Light. Tenacity and focus. Talent, gifts and magic. Love. With some people, you only need to talk to them once to see,  how special they really are. Regardless of whether or not they are aware of what’s within them, what shines around them from inside, the people who love them can always see, what they overlook entirely.

 

I know you’re special. In a way that no set of words can encompass completely. In a way that makes me run out of words, when I think about telling you how special you are.  How amazing you are, charismatic and funny, with ever a quick retort on your fingertips. How you make me laugh all the time, giggling like I never do with anyone else. How thoughtful and intelligent you are, seeing things that elude the grasp of so many people.  How beautiful you are, from your smile to your absent minded thumb twiddling, to that elfin slant your ears take in the sunlight that convinces me, there’s magic in you somewhere. How strong you are, to 200 weighted leg thingies ( I mean, seriously? 200??), and how incredibly brave,  for reasons both you and I know, but you seem to not see..

 

See yourself through my eyes,  just this once. You’re amazing. You’re beautiful, you’re strong, you’re magical. And you’re loved, with everything that I am, with everything that I have, to infinity and beyond, and back…

 

You’re you, and you’re perfect.

 

 

 

Hugs,

Cookie ❤

10 thoughts on “My Beautiful Angel

  1. Mike says:

    What can others see in us, that we cannot see in ourselves? I observe that the writer is as strong as she perceives her lover to be. Beautifully and eloquently expressed.

    Like

  2. johncoyote says:

    A amazing poem. Best days of life is when we love and care for another.

    Like

  3. PapaBear says:

    Ah, Cookie, isn’t it grand to bask in that warmth and glow? You radiate it in your words.
    Paul

    Like

  4. Madsies says:

    Lovely picture you used there. And Amazing poem 🙂

    Like

  5. mahekmithare says:

    loving your blog 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

