Father’s Day Special – A Message

20130616-141622.jpg

A Message

In another life, I could have maybe loved you.
I could have given more pride, to my family name..
Through the insidious convolutions of your twisted mind,
I was always, we were always, nothing but a game.

You thread us through iron strings, you play the puppet master,
Whip up a facade and rig up a paper stage
Suspend the hollow bodies on crosses from the rafters,
For when they are immobilized, you don’t need a cage.

You take such immense pleasure, in crushing us to bits,
Physically and mentally, flesh and spirit erode,
Break down all semblance of will, and systematically,
Fracture and partly heal the parts that can be showed.

To be objective it has such commonly seen markings
A mapping of practical, clinical hurt, abuse,
A string of homicides probably distinguishing
You from the other psychopaths on the news,

But you will answer, really, mental death is death too,
There is a court, where our plea, will not be denied,
Whether or not I live to see you suffer through
I know that in His will somewhere, mine will be satisfied.

You could have been just another normal father,
With normal worries and pains, normal things to do..
If you’d let us live through some semblance of normalcy,
In another life, I could have maybe loved you.

Happy Father’s Day.

©CM
16.06.2013

11 thoughts on “Father’s Day Special – A Message

  1. Madsies says:

    Disturbing. May the odds be ever in your favour. Bless you Cookie.

    Like

  2. Fuzzy bear says:

    Hmm… What happened?

    Like

  3. PapaBear says:

    I’m “takin’ the 5th” on this one, Cookie. Nothing I’d say would be nice.
    Have a great week!
    Paul

    Like

  4. jzanes says:

    I LOVE THIS! Thank you!

    Like

  5. jzanes says:

    Reblogged this on jzanes and commented:
    I love this Father’s Day Special – A Message Poem which describes how I feel when Fathers Day rolls around.

    Like

Leave a Reply

