The Reward

20130630-163935.jpg

The Reward

The more that I know of you,
I’m led to understand
You’re not just a simple blessing
A marvel of God’s Hand
With every passing moment, I
Distill of clean, pure bliss
The biggest realization that
I’ve found in you, is this..

You were made of rock, of stone,
Instilled with steely will,
While mortals will claim flesh and bone
I cannot have my fill
Of unraveling etches, lines,
Your words, your hieroglyphs,
Revealing and concealing
Like scattered clouds, they shift

And move across my perception
Like wind on stormy nights
Like that last tiny hint of day
On the edge of twilight
Just like the spreading, dawning warmth
That glows, suffuses through
My every inch and thought and spell,
I come alive with you

My senses know awakening
My scars, they wash away,
It’s almost like they never were
And the new ones too fade..
And, the more I know of you,
I’m led to understand
You’re payment for my every pain,
I’ve earned you, from God’s Hand..

©CM
30.06.2013

7 thoughts on “The Reward

  1. PapaBear says:

    Ah, Cookie, what can I say about this….! The picture says it all.

    Like

  2. Netta says:

    So very lovely……Thank You!

    Like

  3. Madsies says:

    Very COol! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

