Why?

20130701-171123.jpg

Why?

Why won’t you let me survive
Why won’t you let me breathe,
I try to inhale, exhale,
But you just won’t let me leave

Why won’t you give me some calm,
Just a little silence, peace?
Have I done you any harm?
Why won’t you give me reprieve?

Let me lay down, quiet, deep,
Let me wither, let me fade,
Bury me, please forget me,
Plant a tombstone in the shade

My head doesn’t work anymore,
Every limb shudders, I ache
My chest hurts and I don’t know
Just how much more I can take

Will you ever stop this torture?
When will you have some pity?
Why won’t you see that I’m human?
Why won’t you please let me be?

© CM
01.07.2013

6 thoughts on “Why?

  1. Mike says:

    Harrowing and, one hopes, cathartic. But beautiful language and tone – well done.

    Like

  2. PapaBear says:

    Old memories, new problems…, all te same. They’re always with us and will always, when we let them, torture us. But only if we let them!

    Like

  3. Madsies says:

    This is so Painful to read, just as is Painful to look at the Angel Of Grief. May happiness find your way always. :’)

    Like

Leave a Reply

