You Have Me

20130711-164844.jpg

You Have Me

Horizons stretch unshadowed, and
These ways loom on so ceaselessly
Moments, in weeks, along we trudge,
The hours blend indistinctly,
Weary and alone, and burdened
Dragged through daily monotonies
Even in these mired minutes,
You’re not alone, for you have me

Mornings in haze, dull afternoons,
Twilights of velvet starry skies,
Ramble on, jumbled and confused,
We could be lonely souls that cry
That ache despondent, and morose
Devoid of love, of faith, but see
Even in dark and empty nights,
You’re not alone, for you have me

For you have me, as I have you,
Despite the miles between our days,
Despite the nations, oceans vast,
Inspite of multitudes of grays,
I draw from your magical eyes
The blues and greens, to paint our seas
To drench in happiness that world,
Where everyday you will have me

And in driftwood, in salted flame,
Guided to every light, our names
On whispered winds, softly echoes
That, each time you called, I came
And I will, I’ll always come,
No matter what our path, how bleak
The prospect or the day beyond,
You’re not alone, you have me

You’re not alone, you have me…

©CM
11.07.2013

Distance stops you from holding someone’s hand. From kissing their cheek, from hugging them tight. From chasing them around the house with food ’cause they don’t eat nearly enough (hey, it needs to be done sometimes). Distance can stop you from these things.

What it can’t stop you from, is holding on to them in your heart, and loving then a little more, with every passing moment. Cherishing them. From smiling all day because you have their smile in your head. Distance won’t stop you from any of those.

And it doesn’t stop me either.

Have a blessed day, you all. =)

Love and light,

Cookie ❤

14 thoughts on “You Have Me

  1. Oloriel says:

    This was wonderfull and heartwarming, aswell as the follow-up under, that speaks such great truth. A lot of the times I see people get discouraged from long distance relationships and suffer because of their choices, forgetting, in a haze of sorts, that when you cannot love with your arms and lips at the moment you should still lvoe with your heart.

    Like

    • Thank you, Oloriel. =) I know what you mean. But then, personally I’ve known no other love to mean more than this… And if the heart did not come before ye arms and lips bit, we might not even respect our understanding as much… Who knows? =) things are difficult with the distance, that is true. But this is one thing I don’t mind fighting for. It’s worth it.

      Thank you for sharing your thoughts with me. It means a lot. =)

      Hugs

      Like

  2. charlie gee says:

    beautifully portrayed,<3

    Like

  3. Netta says:

    Distance can be a mean thing…nothing is together ….nothing really works , yes exept your heart….but is that enough ? Am I too hard….?Very lovely poem, and inspiring….

    Like

    • Hmm.. Well no, I understand what you mean. But without the understanding of the hearts, everything else becomes meaningless doesn’t it? That’s what I’m stressing on, I suppose.. Everything else becomes secondary. =) thanks so much for reading an commenting, Netta. =)

      Like

  4. Morgan says:

    Simply Lovely… I like it so much 🙂 and its so true!

    Like

  5. Madsies says:

    I loved the quote used in the picture. Beautiful poetry. 😀
    It’s good to know that we’re not alone. 🙂
    A Blessed day to you as well. ❤

    Like

  6. Madsies says:

    *squishy hugs* 😀

    Like

  7. stankmeaner says:

    Although in the end it didn’t work out, a long distance relationship that I had for 3 years was one of the best I’ve ever had and he’s still one of my best friends a decade later. If its right, glory in it 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

