He

20130819-195846.jpg

He

He’s just something I keep inside me
Sheltered, hidden, mine alone
If you had the biggest treasure in the world,
Wouldn’t you keep it in your bones?

Walls of grey thought swell like the tide
Threatening to crash and wipe me out,
My scattered and feeble existence,
Already blurred and strewn about,
I gather and hold my last front,
Watching the waves of nightmares seas
And even, if I were wiped out,
I’d still have him inside of me

I hear howling, tormented winds
Snarling, menacing, bearing down
I close my eyes and look inwards
His voice is louder than these sounds
The earth is crumbled, where I stand,
I send my roots in, searching deep
The storm’s blood red on the horizon,
But I hold him inside of me

The fog rolls in like ancient death
Blotting the boundaries of the world
Muffling the realm to whispered breaths
Spreading tendrils snicker and curl
All the while, I sit huddled
Watching remnants of flitting dreams
And yet, in the dark I glow,
He glows so strong, inside of me

And the harsh voices all, they fade,
The fear and pain is all unmade,
The parchment skies and bitter rain
Give way to pure light, unafraid
And bathed, renewed in this wonder,
Unscathed, unscarred, I can walk free
With a fresh song upon my lips
And him, safe, deep inside of me…

He’s just something I keep inside me
Sheltered, hidden, yes, mine alone
If you had the biggest treasure in the world,
Wouldn’t you keep it in with your bones?

©CM
19.08.2013

6 thoughts on “He

  1. PapaBear says:

    Isn’t romance wonderful? Nicely done, Cookie.

    Like

  2. Netta says:

    Wow, really, really love this….this is from heart. Thanks .

    Like

  3. Madsies says:

    Wow! Reflects pure, deep Love ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

