The Ache

20131003-033730.jpg

The Ache

I hold you

In the deepest, darkest corners of my mind
Like everything I have lost, never again to find
In memories of the black night, of those shadows I lived
I hear you in the moonlight, in the white painted glyphs

In aching, on bruised nerve endings, I pressed and carved your name
Again and again, I called, but no news of you came
I learnt to forget your face, i pushed my eyeballs in
I tried to stop breathing, forget that scent, your skin

I loved you more than salt, the sea, more than Hell could love sin.

I hold you
In the cracks of my heart, where no light will enter
In those lonely, lonely nights, where no peace will not falter
I hold you in everyone, everything I left behind
In every cut and scar that left no limb unlined
I hold you in the deepest, darkest corners of my mind

I hold you in every scalding tear in endless rains
Oh I still hold you…

I hold you in pain.

© CM
03.10.2013

What matters, in the end, is how well you walk through the fire

No matter how long ago, yesterday, last year, or a lifetime ago. There was a fire.

It burned. It scalded, and it hurt.

And you walked through it.

You built yourself from the ashes, you did.

You walked through the fire to the other side.

And you’re just fine. ❤

Hugs and sunshine,

Cookie ❤

12 thoughts on “The Ache

  1. PapaBear says:

    A little dark and bittersweet, Cookie, but still beautifully written. I almost didn’t comment because I didn’t know what I really wanted to say about it. Be good to yourself, sweetness…… Hugs !
    Paul

    Like

  2. Sand says:

    I’m never sure about the ‘just fine’ part but I take heart from not allowing myself to be plowed under. There are memories and there are pains but they didn’t win. I’m still here. You stand and say you’re still here in beautiful words and rhymes that throb with feeling. Excellent.

    Like

    • You’re more than ‘just fine’, Sand, and I’m blessed that I know you well enough to say that. There were, and are, a lot of things, but they didn’t win, you and I did. That’s a job well done, I’d reckon. =) Lots and lots of hugs, dear ❤

      Like

  3. This was a very beautiful poem, tragic but beautiful. *Many kudos*

    Like

  4. cissykh says:

    Hello there, I love your poetry and your style. I’ve nominated you for the Liebster award. Please visit this link to learn more.
    Congrats!

    Like

  5. Madsies says:

    Hugs Cookie! 😀 XD
    Okay, this does gives the Ache.

    Like

Leave a Reply

