The Knowing

20131128-193629.jpg

The Knowing

Moonlight and shadows
Dance back and forth
Here at the edge of the day

Confusion and clarity
And a lost self worth
Push, to keep the other at bay

While the sky falls
Into mindless ruins
I can still stand through today

With your hand in mine
I know what I must do
Even when I have naught to say

Even when chaos is king
Inside my head, the echoes ring
I still find my voice, and my words

Because even when I was drowned
Choking back on the merest sound
I always knew that you heard

I always knew that I had you
In trial and failure
Come what may

Moonlight and shadows dance at the edge
But I have you, and
I’m happy this way

© CM
29.11.2013

How do you know if what you have is real?

We walk through our days in a blur. Mornings, afternoons, evenings, nights, week days, weekends, come and go without missing a beat. So how do you know then?

How do you know, when it hurts even to breathe, if you’re merely existing, or actually living?

Unless of course, you find an anchor, that won’t let you dash against the cliff and self destruct.

Something to keep you rooted so strong that you’re weathering through storms like its second nature, even in moments where everything seems utterly lost, when you’re utterly lost. Even in those mires of endless thoughts running amok in your head, you know there is a method to the madness somewhere.

It might be an adrenaline rush, or the complete lack of it. A day when so much happens that you can’t even process it, or when nothing happens at all, but you’re still as flushed as if you took a free fall off a ledge.

And in flashes of sudden clarity, you know.

You know you’ll be fine.

Cause I know I’ll be fine.

And why wouldn’t I be? I have people who are teaching me how to love me. =)

And how I love you for it. =)

Muffins, rainbows and unicorns,

Cookie ❤

6 thoughts on “The Knowing

  1. PapaBear says:

    You have a strong, yet gentle heart, Cookie. It shows in your writing. Never lose that…, it’s an important part of you. Hugs ! (Big Ones).

    Like

  2. Madsies says:

    Ah, now that’s a really good gives-you-the-hope one. 🙂
    Hugs n Yay to Unicorns ❤

    Like

  3. Netta says:

    Love this one….soft , but strong.

    Like

Leave a Reply

