Not Strong Enough

20140103-163323.jpg

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=b0YRq27qSxw

Not Strong Enough


I’m not strong enough to stay away
Can’t run from you
I just run back to you

Like a moth I’m drawn in to your flame,
You say my name, but it’s not the same

You look in my eyes, I’m stripped of my pride
And my soul surrenders,
And you bring my heart to its knees

And it’s killing me when you’re away
I want to leave and
I want to stay
And I’m so confused, so hard to choose.
Between the pleasure and the pain
And I know it’s wrong, and I know it’s right
Even if I try to win the fight,

My heart would overrule my mind
And I’m not strong enough to stay away

I’m not strong enough to stay awake
What can I do
I would die without you

In your presence my heart knows no shame
I’m not to blame
Cause you bring my heart to its knees

And it’s killing me when you’re away
I want to leave and
I want to stay
I’m so confused, so hard to choose.
Between the pleasure and the pain
And I know it’s wrong, and I know it’s right
Even if I try to win the fight,
My heart would overrule my mind
And I’m not strong enough to stay away

There’s nothing I can do
My heart is chained to you
And I can’t get free…

Look what this love’s done to me

And it’s killing me when you’re away
I want to leave and
I want to stay
And I’m so confused, so hard to choose.
Between the pleasure and the pain

And I know it’s wrong, and I know it’s right
Even if I try to win the fight,
My heart would overrule my mind
And I’m not strong enough to stay away

Not strong enough, strong enough
Not strong enough, strong enough
To stay away

Not strong enough, strong enough
Not strong enough, strong enough
I’m not strong enough to stay away…


© Apocalytica ft. Brent Smith

I’m not strong enough to stay away.

One of my favorite songs, by Apocalyptica, a Finnish metal band, with the voice of Brent smith, the lead singer of Shinedown.

The music is ethereal, haunting, and it resonates through every dark and empty corridor in my mind, every time I listen to it. The lyrics especially, if you notice, are exceptionally written. Befitting the storm of the cello, and the storm they talk about- the love you can’t stay away from. The love you know can wreck you. The love you know, will wreck you.

Love that defies logic, that staggers any reason. Love that you cant find a beginning for, the love you can’t even place, who’s origins you can’t trace. The kind that lifts you up and crushes you in the same moment, love which makes simultaneously sane, but insane. Love which makes you, and yet, you know it’s end will break you. When you want to walk through the brambles, knowing they will hurt. When you want more than anything to jump off that cliff, knowing of the endless sea below the precipice. When you know, you know it’s going to hurt. And you can’t stay away.

Because that is where you blossom. That free fall is where you soar. And so you go to jump, yet again. To dash yourself against the rocks. Lay yourself bare, yet again. Even knowing of the oncoming pain. Because you’re not strong enough to stay away.

Because I’m not strong enough to stay away.

Look what this love did to me….

Love,

Cookie~

13 thoughts on “Not Strong Enough

  1. andy1076 says:

    So powerful, all these emotions you are conveying cookie..Indeed, there’s no feeling that’s as hard to deny as when someone you long for, is so far away.

    Like

  2. Sand says:

    A place with which I am intimately familiar. Tried to find another love, tried to find another home. It was all wasted effort. May your harbor deepen and, if it doesn’t, may you find a safer one.

    Like

  3. Netta says:

    Absolutly beautiful …..love this so much…..maybe because this is me. Fall in love with the title….thanks for this amazing poem.

    Like

  4. Madsies says:

    Beautiful. ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

