Happy Birthday, Calliope’s Lyre!!!! =D

Image

 

 

                                                                                       HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!! =D 

 

Buckle up, y’all! We got a long ‘un!! 

 

Image

 

 

On January 16th, 2013, I decided to take the impetuous and slightly foolhardy plunge to jump off the wordpress cliff and dive headfirst into blogging. Dive. Headfirst. Like an impulsive lunatic. Which, you know, I am. but YAY FOR IT!!!! =D 

It was a decision right out of the blue. I mean, one day I was posting poems on Facebook and in the groups I share to, and then that very evening I asked a couple of friends what they thought, and bam! We had a blog, that’s right! 😀 It was all like 

Image

 

 

And it really was that sudden, for me at least. Starting this blog ended up being a constant catalyst to a long series of changes, on both a conscious and subtly subconscious level, that in retrospect led to the some of the best decisions I have made till date. Lord knows I needed no help with expression or assertion (being a chatterbox does have it’s advantages ,you know), but the content of thought and priority changed drastically. I changed, and each time I looked back, I liked what I saw in the present better than the future. It turned into a constant state of self examination. I was constantly thinking, true, but constantly channeling sense, thanks to you guys, and I learned how to make sense. 

Image

This blog served both as anchor and the wind in my sails. The opportunity to share, to be heard, to be known for who I really am even in the guise of yet another anon writer on the internet, it all helped me grow. So much so that in this one year of blogging, I’ve made some of my biggest personal and professional changes, some of my most significant revolutions, and as I look back, a lot of the confidence I needed for those minor epiphanies stemmed from here. From no longer needing validation, from no longer seeking validation. Simply because I realized I had a voice, and something that wasn’t entirely not worth saying. And that helped. 

 

That helped because in this one calender year I’ve faced more emotional turmoil than possibly ever before. I made mistakes, lots of them, and learnt lessons, an almost uncountable tally. I broke my heart and my body, till I hurt in places I didn’t know it was possible to hurt. Some days, most days, others gave me ample reason to hurt myself too. I healed, learned how to mend cracks and bruises, but best of all, I learnt how to walk on shattered dreams, to better places. Something I was taught by those closest to me, to learn how to hold on to other people when you don’t think you can do it on your own. And somehow, I earned some of those unbelievable people too. Oh and it hurt all the way, and it still hurts like a bee-yotch. It all fades into relative insignificance though, when I account for the fact that they all, every single one of them, led me to actively realize what I want. What I want from life. What I want from today. From me. 

Image

That’s right. I have friends who will pull me out of demonic Xmas trees. See, that’s true love ❤

Hopefully, this is the first of many birthdays. Calliope’s Lyre is one year old and 512 followers strong. It doesn’t mean that I’m something, but at least, it means that we are something. 

And isn’t that amazing? 😀 

 

Happy Birthday, y’all!!! 😀 😀 😀 

 

PS. 
Image

 

 

Just kidding, we have cake! And hugs too!!!!  Pass them around!! 😀 😀 

14 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Calliope’s Lyre!!!! =D

  1. chimerapoet says:

    so glad you decided to take that leap! Happy Birthday and many many more!

    Like

  2. Morgan says:

    Happy Day 🙂 So glad you took the plunge 🙂 What a joy to read your posts!

    Like

  3. Netta says:

    Happy…Happy…..wonderful . Enjoy all your posts/poetry. May it carry on for many , many years to come.

    Like

  4. Oloriel says:

    Happy Blog Birthday and may you have many more! 😀

    Like

  5. Mike says:

    I’m glad that you’re glad. Happy birthday.

    Like

  6. PapaBear says:

    Wow !!! Cookie !!! You are still alive and well !!! Somehow, over the holidays you, and some others, were deleted from my “follow” list and now I’m just catching up with everyone. Have missed you. Hope the holidays were good to you and you were able to get the new year off to a good start. So…, HAPPY BIRTHDAY…(a little late). Monstah Hugs !!!

    Like

  7. Madsies says:

    Happy Birthday Calliope’s Lyre ❤
    You have done a Splendid Job with this blog.
    I'm Glad to be a part of your Awesomeness.
    *smears cake on you*
    Oooodles Of Hugs! XOXOXO
    Yayyyy to Cookie! XD
    Love ya!

    Like

Leave a Reply

