This Mad Love

20140317-195901.jpg

This Mad Love

This will be my confession, yes
This is my compulsion.
I am drawn heedless
I am drawn to this madness
In every moment, I lose myself
And find more of me, in being lost in you
Helpless maybe, but hopeless I am not

This all I need to do…

And I will live, by your name, and by your name I will die
And for that one silent breath you take,
I will this entire cruel world, defy
What have you done to me, what am I but
Lost in this madness, intoxicated
Lost in this love, for you…

Love is the only draught potent enough
Heady enough, maddening enough,
I take my smile to the gallows with me
With this magic in my eyes
And this fire in my smile,
The world could cease to be, but would I see?
This is what I want, you are what I want
I am selfish and I am reckless,
But as I see you standing in front

I will live, by your name, and by your name I will die
And for that one silent breath you take,
I will this entire cruel world, defy
What have you done to me, what am I but
Lost in this madness, intoxicated
Lost in this love, for you…

And maybe I am crazy
But the realization does not faze me
Even I have lost my ways, and the worlds through
I have found my home in you …


CM
16.03.2014

Being in love is a seriously dangerous proposition. All of a sudden you find, you’re not the center of your own universe anymore. Your moods aren’t entirely your moods, rather, dictated by the whims of an entirely other person. Every thing you do together is an adventure, and every slight is a nightmare. It’s almost a constant oscillation between being ecstatic, and being agonized. Its worth it though, if and only if, you are loved.

If, you are loved as well.

Otherwise, unrequited, unreturned, it just becomes a delusion of occasional happiness. Just a self inflicted delusion. A castle in the air that’ll send you plummeting back to the ground the minute you try to dwell in it for more than a few minutes. Dreams, and more broken dreams.

I read once that when you love someone, you arm them with every weapon they’ll need to destroy you, but you know they never will.

But what if they do?

Dreamless sleep to you,

Cookie ❤

9 thoughts on “This Mad Love

  1. daslater2013 says:

    Absolutely loving this piece from your eloquent quill Cookie Also I can relate to your perceptions of being in love, and being loved in return !!
    It is quite a roller coaster of emotional mirrors xdx Bless and keep well.

    Like

  2. Madsies says:

    Breathtaking Image.
    Great Words. 🙂
    Love is Mad!

    Like

  3. PapaBear says:

    Hi, you “mad” cookie monster !!!
    There’s a lot of depth to what you wrote here. Love is such a complex jewel to hold. There are so many facets to it…, and so many different gems – family love, friendship, and more. Then we come to that deeper, more intimate thing we call “love” that involves us with another person who touches our lives in a way the others do not. I make a difference here of being “in love”, in lust, and the real thing. “In love” and in lust, are, for me, the “roller coaster” ride whereas in the real thing it’s a smooth, even, ever-present feeling of quiet, peaceful contentment that each shares with the other, the two completing each other, merging into one love. …and that’s all I’m gonna say about it ! ~xo

    Like

    • Mnmm, well ‘lust’ rarely makes an appearance in my palette at all, Paul. It really has no existence unless at the edges of love, as far as my spectrum goes. :p but yep, you’re right about the rest! Hopefully, I’m getting there! 🙂

      Squish hugs!!! Hope you had a great St. Paddy’s! 🙂 xx

      Like

  4. Deepa says:

    So true and nicely written! Conversely, once you stop loving someone, suddenly you take that power away from them. Incredible how absolute that change can be.

    Like

Leave a Reply

