La Danse Masquée

20140408-172932.jpg

La Danse Masquée

Velvet soft whispers
Flit across the room
Gestures
That seem insubstantial
But hold a wealth
Of meaning
As subtle, as doom

Sweet poison, you
Pervade
My every breath
I inhale your delicious fragrance
And I would hurtle
To my death
Relish the tart
Aftertaste
And consume myself
In obtaining you

We say nothing, you and I,
But the universe
In that glance
Is expressed

You thrust, I parry
Neither of us will take a stance
But your eyes say it all
We widen
The circle of innocence
I twirl,
And you catch me
Before I fall

We are no strangers
To this dance

© CM
08.04.2014

Day Seven of NaPoWriMo! Today’s prompt was to rewrite a poem, and I’ve reimagined one of my old ones here. The words are different, but the thought behind it is the same. Hope you guys like it!

Cheerio chin chin,

Cookie ❤

PS. Hayley Billy hugs! Cause I wanted to! 😛 ❤

12 thoughts on “La Danse Masquée

  1. andy1076 says:

    So sensual and fire! :O

    Like

  2. daslater2013 says:

    Truly a delightful dance that express emotives surreally awakened !! Beautiful and sensually macabre xdx

    Like

  3. This is masterfully written; vivid, true and playful. 🙂 I like this part best:
    “And I would hurtle
    To my death
    Relish the tart
    Aftertaste
    And consume myself
    In obtaining you”

    Thanks for sharing your wonderful work.

    Like

  4. chimerapoet says:

    like, love…..all words not good enough. i want to live in this poem. incredible images. take a bow m’lady

    Like

  5. Madsies says:

    Lovely! 🙂

    Like

  6. Netta says:

    Very much in love with this.
    Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

