Innocence

20140423-222722.jpg

Innocence


I never had an ‘innocence’
The clarity that childhood lends
Was always marred by lines of hate
Branded delinquent, reprobate
To wake up and to know for sure
It wouldn’t be a day to endure
To go happy to bed and sleep
Certain that no hatred would seep
Screaming, bellowing through the walls
Those are the nights that I recall
More clearly than the quiet ones
Are those where I’d stay up and learn

Those, where I lay in the dark
Embedded, engraved in my heart
Venom, repulsion, recoiling
Learning to stay quiet when roiling
Learning to keep my mouth shut
Learning quickly to grow up

Small wonder then, that I grew
Older than anyone I knew
My dolls never held fantasies
Of princes, eternal love, daisies
They were and are but ridicule
Not meant for homes where pure spite rules
My perception of love is awry
There is no room for simpers, sighs
All I look for is loyalty
Understanding is all I seek
And while I have found it, replete
I am for now, not incomplete
I cannot find it in me to mend
Not mourn the loss of innocence

© CM
23.04.2014

13 thoughts on “Innocence

  1. Morgan says:

    Fantastic!!! 🙂

    Blessings of Inspiration and Tranquility ~

    Like

  2. Netta says:

    This is great! A lot of feelings.
    Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  3. drew delaney says:

    Some of this reminds me of what i remember.

    To go happy to bed and sleep
    Certain that no hatred would seep
    Screaming, bellowing through the walls
    Those are the nights that I recall
    More clearly than the quiet ones

    Sad things to remember. Your writing is awesome.

    Like

  4. daslater2013 says:

    Painfully saddening !! >3

    Like

  5. Madsies says:

    Greivous. Very well written. Hugs! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

