Acceptance

20140429-182424.jpg

Acceptance

I look back
Through old photographs
The ones I didn’t destroy
Or throw away
And it’s astounding
Just the fact
That I hated myself
So relentlessly
Hated the mirror
Hated my reflection
Hated my body
Hated my face
And now
When I probably deserve that hate
I’m learning to love myself
In every way

Funny to think
That the ways you broke me
Taught me how
To hold on more
To gather, stronger
A receding tidal wave
Large enough to pulverize
Any damned shore
Funny to think
All the self loathing
You dealt
Taught me how
To accept myself
Taught me how
To love my flaws
Taught me how
To love myself

I locked the door
To all your hate
Barred the gate
Threw away the key
Acceptance
Illuminates me now
Faults and all,
I can love me

Β© CM
29.04.2014

Day 29!!! Almost there!!! πŸ˜€

18 thoughts on “Acceptance

  1. floridaborne says:

    Yes, I look back on old photos and wonder why I didn’t appreciate the beauty inside and love being in the body I was given, because the beauty inside is what lasts while we only have a short time to appreciate the wrapping paper.

    Like

  2. Madsies says:

    Beautiful. Very inspiring. ❀

    Like

  3. andy1076 says:

    Light from one’s soul shines from within after all, right? πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. daslater2013 says:

    I have to agree with Floridabourne. Is it so easy to listen to such negativity, does it really shout the loudest ! When their echoes of deceit blow like the dervish dancer collecting negative upon negative until something inside suffocates and dies, all be it unknowingly……. No one should be hypnotised by such hateful hurt. I relate to this poem yet it’s took me a while to get to my inner truth and at times the tide is overpowering and I loose the strength of reclamation…….. Beautiful words Cookie ❀

    Like

    • It really is overpowering sometimes, David. I get that completely. It’s like living in the midst of a tussle to hate yourself or let yourself be, and no matter how many battles you win, the war remains. Eventually though, we can find it in ourselves to tip the scales, and that’s what I’m searching for. And I hope you find yours too! Lots of love, dear. ❀

      Like

  5. Oloriel says:

    Very powerful and touching poem, I can relate to it a lot.

    Like

  6. Sand says:

    We grow up seeing ourselves through the eyes of our parents. What other yardstick to we have in the first 5 years or so? If they criticize incessantly we become so critical of our own hearts and minds and souls and bodies. Sometimes we learn to turn that outward and sometimes we absorb it so thoroughly that it seeps into our every atom. It’s so hard to reach self-acceptance. One of the good things (and yes, there were plenty of bad things but they matter less every year) about being taught by nuns was hearing ‘consider the source’. Eventually you do. Eventually you find new methods and new criteria against which to measure. So glad you’re getting there. Good write, my dear. Obviously very thought-provoking.

    Like

    • Have to get there, as you said, Sand dear. I suppose we become so conditioned to hearing ourselves criticized, and believing it too, that we don’t object to the same treatment from other people in our lives too. Or maybe that’s what I did, I dunno. Nevertheless, no ones acceptance matters as much as our own. And that’s the best thing to work towards. It’s what I’m trying to do. πŸ™‚ thank you so much, sweetness. I’ve missed you roundabouts here. πŸ™‚

      Like

  7. Poetkatie says:

    An inspiring piece, of which I can relate to x

    Like

  8. drew delaney says:

    Such a sad, sad poem. I hope you are doing much better now. Hugs & xxx.

    Like

  9. geezergirl1 says:

    Very powerful and well written. So glad that you find/found self empowerment to this critical journey in life.
    thanks

    Like

Leave a Reply

