You Are

20140509-040703.jpg

You Are

It amazes me, what you can do to me.

You are my torture, and my bane. Unknowingly, seemingly uncaring, you give me so much pain. And yet you are my joy. You are the reason I smile to familiar chords. You are the music, and you are my words.

You are the pause between the letters, where my mind is trying to arrange coherently, everything that you are.

You are the sun, and the moon. And the stars, and the galaxies in between them. And the throb of near infinite living, pulsating souls. You are the collective sound of their breath, and the void between them.

You are the space between each heartbeat.

You are the tides of the ever moving ocean, and the ripples changing with the phases of the moon. The wind that whispers sweet nothings to me, and the rustles of emptiness that make me ache. You are what breaks me, when the rain washes the layers of the rust of the day away, when the sky melts down.

You are what makes me.

You are the dusky close of the day, and blush of each bowed, closing flower. You are the dawn over the hills, and the dew under my feet, during my restless nighttime wanderings. Even then, you are my indulgence, my intoxication. You are the cinders, and the ashes. The tinder to ignite them, the self destruction to light them.

You are the wraiths in the dancing wreaths I weave, that disappear like forgotten dreams, in the air.

You are the echoes of mischief, the stillness of the moment where you laugh out loud. It amazes me, how my entire universe stops there, in that moment where you laugh.

It amazes me, how I would lose my entirety, entirely in that moment.

You are my insatiable happiness, and yet you satisfy me, even when I cry myself to sleep. You are why I hate myself a little more every day that I am just merely me. And you are what teaches me to love myself.

You are my darkness and my awakening, every emotion I relive, time and again, echoing myself each day, each night. You are every poem I write.

It amazes me, what you can do to me.

It amazes me, what you are.

Cookie ❤

08.05.2014

7 thoughts on “You Are

  1. I really enjoyed your poetry during NaPoWriMo and I wanted to know more about you, so I nominated you for a Liebster Award. To find out more about the challenge, you can follow this link: http://faithfamilyandfocaccia.com/2014/05/10/liebster-award/. Hope you enjoy the questions!

    Like

  2. daslater2013 says:

    An astonishing write Cookie ❤
    Never have your beautiful words left me unsatisfied and always you deliver so much more xdx Thank you and blessings be upon you always 🙂

    Like

  3. Netta says:

    Just amazing….powerful words….thank you for sharing this.

    Like

  4. Madsies says:

    You are, amazing! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

