Stoned

20140816-125628.jpg

Stoned


I was acutely aware of the stone
Harshly cradling
my prone form
Unrelenting
Against the curve of my back
I lay, exposed
Displayed to the Elements
Naked
To the fury
Of the storm

The Sky stared down
Pitilessly
Dew drops trickled
Down from my hair
Down from my eyes
Furrowing new paths
As if,
to the Sea,
Tracing rivulets
Cold, wet
Pagan
Where I began
I didn’t know
How much was rain
How much tears
How much of that marking me
Blood
Or sweat
How long, or
From where,
I flowed

Glistening, thus postured, I
Stretched out,
Limbs askew, throat bared, eyes
Wild behind the
Ebony cascade
I languished there
Forgotten,
The sacrificial lamb that
Did not run away
Awaiting your footsteps
Bristling through the heather
Anticipating the descent
Of one
Who obeyed

Bound
By more than chains
Ravished
On a refrain
Captive, of my own will,
Arms outstretched, keening in supplication
I prayed

Β© CM
15.08.2014

18 thoughts on “Stoned

  1. Huhuhahaha says:

    How much did u smoke ?

    Like

  2. PapaBear says:

    Dark…, but beautifully written, Cookie. Would like to see something more happy here…, please! πŸ™‚ Hugs

    Like

  3. daslater2013 says:

    Love this piece Cookie ❀ Stunningly visual and mesmerising πŸ™‚ Nicely written dear friend xdx

    Like

  4. Dan Hoger says:

    This is the most beautiful thing I’ve read in a while.

    Like

  5. Madsies says:

    So nicely written. πŸ™‚ ❀

    Like

  6. Vijay Vaghela says:

    Very vivid, your lines creatively build the imagery, with the stormy painful scene coming alive. An amazing magnificent creation.

    Like

Leave a Reply

