House of Cards

HoC

House of Cards

I built a fortress, tentatively,
Barring the walls
From my own hate
Encrypting
Each faint memory
Emblazoned on cards
Away from the real world
Diamonds
O’er dead pieces of eight

Stacked the queens
With the jesters
In corners
Marked the turrets
With knaves
And kings
Vision by vision, elaborately
layered my house
It expanded,
tottering
Under the weight of
So much hope
My dreams buckled
paper thin
Cards fell, lay crushed,
And I with them

What else
could such an endeavor
bring?

Building a rickety
House of cards
On a windy day
It’s just tempting fate
That’s what I get
For climbing so high
And giving my Heart
To a Spade

© CM
21.08.2014

5 thoughts on “House of Cards

  1. daslater2013 says:

    Never trust a courtier with your heart !!
    Wonderful write Cookie 🙂 ❤

    Like

  2. Great post ! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

  3. Madsies says:

    Amazing. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

