Euphoria

eu

Euphoria

I stand
In the freezing rain
The drops pelting my face
Mercilessly
The wind rattles
Blows through my bones
Numbing my touch
My thoughts
I cannot see
I cannot hear
Under the sheer
Assault
My senses
Are under
My mind’s alit
In shards of lightning
Falling through
The rolling thunder

I am frozen
I am ecstatic
A roiling mass of
Nerveless bliss
The rain begins
Where I end
Heaven can’t be
Better than this

In that moment
Love and lovelessness
Icy euphoria
All accrue
And burst in me
I’m cold, and wet,
And deliriously happy

Today even the rain
Tastes of you

©CM
06.09.2014

I wonder if you know what goes on in my head.

You barely know I’m here. Something or the other has caught your eye and you’re lost working it out… And I’m lost, working you out.

Can you feel the weight of my eyes on your face? Its not like I’m averting my gaze. On the contrary, I’m trying to commit you to memory. Unabashedly, fix you in my thoughts with the permanence of having loved, having you.

It’s almost as if I’m feasting on your presence. Small glances that only heighten my desire to stare at you openly, your eyes. The curl of your lashes, the little crinkle in your forehead, the way you purse your lips and nibble at them when you work. I know the silhouette of your cheekbones better than I know mine.

I could spend hours planting kisses in the hollow where your jaw meets your ear.

I know those hands, those warm, soft hands. I’ve held on to them in sanity and insanity, and everything between. They’ve held me, those hands, they’ve held me even when I didn’t have you, but I doubt you know that. I doubt you know what goes on inside my head.

You’re like a symphony. A rhapsody playing itself out, and every time that I’m close enough to touch you, the crescendo builds loud enough to stop my heart in its paces. There’s violins and cellos and bass that thrums through my bones. Everything you do is music. Everything you do is magic.

And I am utterly, irrevocably, enraptured.

I answered the siren’s calls and threw myself against the rocks, and went laughing to my death. Only the raving know the delirious ecstasy that madness is…

My eyes are almost closing, I could be asleep. Except that no dream will compensate for losing a chance to drink you in with my eyes. You’re a dream painted in all the white liquors, but you taste like whisky. You’re far more potent though, because you get me drunk off life.

I could get drunk off just watching you.

My pen slips and rolls a little, and you look up in surprise. I freeze, afraid that the glance might shatter this unspoken moment. Only when you look back down to your work, do I finally breathe a sigh of relief. I’m writing half legible words that flit unbidden into my head. I write, and write, and write. I cannot empty my head of you.

You stretch, and smile guilelessly at me lazing beside you. I’m just sitting here, dozing for all you know. I doubt you could ever see why or how much I love you. You’ll never be able to fully understand what goes on inside my head.

Probably, neither will I.

Your very bonkers

Cookie ~

8 thoughts on “Euphoria

  1. beingeternal says:

    Brilliant and refreshing!

    Like

  2. Madsies says:

    The rainy weather is indeed euphorIc. Very well put in words. Bravo! 😀 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sand says:

    Gorgeous, my dear, and yes, euphoric. The excitement and joy you evoked, feelings that pour freely from every line, made me smile in a shared happiness.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Sand! I’m happy you liked it. Makes sense, I know you’re a rain person too. I wish you could’ve been there, it was so amazing. I wanted to write about every single drop that fell on me. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

