Monsters

20140928-170953.jpg

Monsters

I always thought I was
A consummate survivor
Capable of pulling through
Rather insane amounts of pain

Yet these monsters have managed to burrow in
And wedge themselves
Like a corkscrew turning through my brain

Each day I tug them out some
Each night they twist back in some
Always two deeper and one back

I suppose when they will have drilled
Through my head
At least I won’t be worrying about
Being cracked

Either I dig them out or
Let them eat their way through
Both ways I’ll be dead, but the latter
Is really more elegant

It’s just a matter of
Waiting to see
Which will win out
in the end

© CM
27.09.2014

One thought on “Monsters

  1. Madsies says:

    Wow. Amazing. There’s only so much one can take..

    Like

Leave a Reply

