Spontaneous Combustion

20141005-153330.jpg

Spontaneous Combustion

It’s a little ritual
Me,
The fire,
And the smoke

Inhale
Exhale
A burn at the back of my throat
The fragrance of cinders
And breathing that leaves me
Out of breath
Butterflies in my stomach
Unbidden smiles
The world wobbling as it all
Rushes
Through my head

It’s the same self destruction
And relief
Each time I’ve lit

How could I stop smoking?
Each cigarette feels
Like falling in love with you did

© CM
05.09.2014

Image Credit- Ashish MA.

11 thoughts on “Spontaneous Combustion

  1. I know this ritual well! Clever write ~☯ღ☮~

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jamjimxp says:

    “How could i stop smoking ?”
    Nicotine gum
    Nicotine patches
    Self control
    Or you could consult a doctor

    Like

  3. PapaBear says:

    You, of all people, Cookie, should know better than to smoke. I know I did…, and I know what it contributed to, and the unending hell that it created…., heart attack, cardiac storm, transplant (I was lucky), and now for the rest of my life, tests and procedures to follow up on the transplant. Looking back, it was never worth it !!!
    I’ve walked the walk, so, please take my word…, IT’S NOT WORTH THE TEMPORARY BUZZ ! Be good to yourself. I care about you.

    Like

  4. Madsies says:

    Hedonistic.

    Like

Leave a Reply

