Irony

Irony

It might be retribution for being
Such a hardened, bitter cynic
I didn’t mean to offend
I just wanted to defend
My poor little vulnerable heart
From this painful business
So I didn’t believe
Till I watched you leave
Till I saw the real
discrepancies
And aching and quaking
And bleeding and breaking
Now all make sense to me

I finally understood
But then He took it away

God has a sense of humor, I’d say
It just sucks that I forgot how to laugh, along the way

©CM
21.10.2014

5 thoughts on “Irony

  1. Chatty Owl says:

    Wow. Sad beauty. Emotional rollercoaster. You do it well.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Madsies says:

    Great. ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

