Tomorrow

Tomorrow

I look into your eyes, and I see tomorrow

I see nirvana and oblivion, awakening and transcendence
Mysticism and cynicism, fury departed from all sense
Deliverance
Dancing in the corners of your smile, there are myths
Legends of flame come to life
I see it all,
when I look into your eyes

The edges of memories that have been eaten away by time
Still live preserved in my mind, because
That is where I’m alive
Meanings, overwhelming meanings,
Every utterance of impossible significance
Things that you say, that no one would comprehend,
but I know the importance
Of listening, you speak and I am
Untouched by sorrow
I look into your eyes, and I see tomorrow

A place, a world, where I could
Exist freely
Where I would not limit my thought
No walls would hold me
I’d be the ocean and sky, the wind and the rolling sea
We would live there, you and I, yes
Yes, I dare to dream
I can almost believe that
There is something, beyond all this horror
When I look into your eyes,
And I see tomorrow

Β© CM
23.11.2014

16 thoughts on “Tomorrow

  1. daslater2013 says:

    I’m loving this piece Cookie ❀
    If I could dream of all the wonderous tomorrow's that is where I'd be Afloat in your eyes !! Excellence πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. PapaBear says:

    Hi Cookie. This one is different from much of what you’ve written recently. In it I thought I could begin to sense, to feel the real you…, deeper that the raw edges that I’ve been seeing. It’s a beautiful piece of work. Really nice. Now if I were a young man and in my prime, I’d be looking into your eyes all the time…, (and not be getting much of anything else done… hahahahaha !!!). Hugs dear one. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • I suppose that’s what comes of thoughts like open wounds… The edges are too apparently raw. I’m glad that you could read a change in my words, lord knows that there’s been a few changes in me, lol. And hehehe, don’t sell yourself short, Papabear. Your words turn quite a few heads still. πŸ˜‰ hugs back!!! Happy Sunday! πŸ˜€

      Like

  3. Virginia says:

    Beautiful. Yessss.

    Like

  4. So as always, I love the content of this poem…its body and blood, true and real and as usual a fit poetic communion offering.

    Here is what really thrilled me though…because I am meticulous about construction, I notice it in others, or notice when it is not attended to. I think you were really great with construction in this piece!

    Great job, and thank you for bringing this from the poetic pond!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much, Charissa! πŸ™‚ I wasn’t sure where I was going with this when I started.. It just sort of emerged and then kept going. Longer than most of my recent ones but I didn’t feel like trimming it lol. I’m glad you liked it! I do hope you’ll point the clumsy ones out to me too! πŸ™‚

      Cheers! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • Actually, I admire your courage to let it be as long as it is…sometimes its hard to not be Procrustes with our poems, yes? We get addled by the current sensibility that a poem “Ought To Be…”

        ought to be short…
        ought to have stanzas…
        ought to all rhyme…
        ought to not rhyme at all…
        ought to be like ee cummings…
        ought to be like Kipling…or Robert Service!

        To me, what I aim for is to make a great “sauce” with a poem, right? Disparate elements, something that goes in it or it goes on, and then reduced to just the right place…too far and the sauce breaks. Not far enough and it is diluted and tasteless.

        As far as your gracious invite? How about this? I would email you about anything like that, and it would be done in the spirit of two sisters taking care of a well loved younger sibling! Because poetry, it’s different from prose, and while there is at some place an “objective” good poetry and bad poetry, where that place is I find to be fluid and squirts out thru my fingers when I try to grasp hold of it! Or it will be very different when I return months later!

        Occasionally though, I have been good at getting the “dirty diapers” off my poems (and sometimes others) and getting a clean nappy there, and a good warm bottle and rocking them to peaceful beatific sleep.! lol

        I appreciate these interactions, thank you! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • Hahah yep. I lack direction, tbh. I just start writing and stop writing and somewhere in the middle a poem happens. The downside of writing by feel is that the mechanics of it all are vastly ignored, lol. So yep! I’d love to hear more from you! πŸ™‚ My email’s yougotalolcat@yahoo.com. Feel free to write to me about anything you like at all! πŸ˜€

        And I love your comments! Thank you too! πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh gosh!! You are most welcome, and I am glad that I am not mucking about where I don’t belong! It is a matter of great concentration for me, cus I do have reactions to things, and opinions and my gut tells me things and if I am not careful I can be so ham handed and not even know! And then I am just sooo crushed cus I got all caught up in the thing and forgot the person who made the thing…not GOOD!

    okay, so ima email you rite now jus really quik to get you in my addy bok.

    thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. ohellino says:

    I like this one. You should do a spoken word of it. It has a nice flow.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Madsies says:

    I’ve heard this beautifully spoken too. πŸ˜€

    Like

Leave a Reply

