Languish

Languish

Eventually, I’ll resign myself
Consign myself to
Disappointment
Grow accustomed to the taste of
Brine
Accept the hollows between the lines

Eventually, I’ll grow jaded
Fade
Reconcile with decisions made
By your hand, and yours, and yours
By everyone to whom I gave the power
Consecrated
This stabbing pain will dissipate
Eventually, I’ll stop tugging
My chains from the hands of fate
Already, my will’s growing weak
I’m closer to finding my place
Long fought, long sought, still I seek
A quiet rest in Death’s embrace

Eventually, I’ll find respite
It won’t hurt, it’ll be alright
Eventually
But not tonight

© CM
01.12.2014

8 thoughts on “Languish

  1. ohellino says:

    I like the feeling that everything is alright cus we die. Nice work!

    Like

    • See that’s the thing- there’s no promises of even that, are there? You think you could die to get away from it all, an then bam, you’re stuck in an afterlife of eternal bliss (which I’m pretty sure I couldn’t stomach anyway, happiness doesn’t suit me), or eternal damnation, which is already my life. Death feels pointless now.

      Liked by 1 person

      • ohellino says:

        I don’t think I’ll be stuck in an afterlife. Unless I start seeing mermaids and flying pigs and unicorns everywhere all of a sudden. Death suits life. If we all lived forever wouldn’t we all be gods?

        Like

      • There was this short story my boyfriend Linked me to, called The Egg. Check it out, you might like it. 🙂

        Like

      • ohellino says:

        Yeah I’m all for flying pigs and stories and stuff but I love a good bit of realism. I had trouble reading “The Egg” as it was put on a bit thick. At first I thought it was the story of the two guys in masks who go into a church. I’m not really into feel good at gunpoint stories lol. It is an interesting twist to the story though I’ll give it that.

        Like

      • Ha lol, yeah it meanders at start up, for sure.

        Like

  2. PapaBear says:

    Hmmmm…, too gloomy ! Cheer up !!! 🙂

    Like

  3. Madsies says:

    Sad with smart usage of words.

    Like

Leave a Reply

