Night Terrors

Night Terrors

I was never afraid of the dark,
even as a child
I learnt very early that
The real monsters
Walk in daylight

I had no need to use
My imagination, when
It was stark- black and white
to see
Real monsters
Live in men

Men who are rotten from within

They keep feeding them
Putrid thoughts
Decayed consciences
False smiles and assurances
Mask the core of depravity
Their rancid leers give them away, but
Only if you look past
Their invisibility
Can you see?
Can you see?
Can you see how many monsters
Surround me?

And I’m grown up now,
but
I still seek the night
Because I know
The monsters wait for me
In the daylight

©CM
15.01.2014

4 thoughts on “Night Terrors

  1. globalunison says:

    Take care of yourself, Cookie! ❤

    Blessings,
    -Naima

    Like

  2. Madsies says:

    I do remember my many failed attempts over many a years trying to scare you. You are a strong woman. 🙂
    The poem is a striking reality. May these monsters be at bay!

    Like

Leave a Reply

