Want To Be

Want To Be

I don’t want you to simply
Love me
I want you to look at me
The way I look
At you
To marvel
That something so perfect
Could exist within my reach
Could actually
Be true
I want
Your respect
Your unfettered trust, and
Faith
To know that I will stand, undiminished
By a world full of bitterness
And hate
I want you to think of me, too,
As a blessing from fate

I don’t want to be beautiful
I want to be
Impossible
Like a sunset on a summit
Unreachable
Intractable
The way your complexities
Make you a maze
That at every turn, amazes me
I want you to look
With devotion
Not ambiguity
The way I see you

With implacable wonder
And certainty

Because I do want to be
All those things
I really do

But not for me

For you….

©CM
09.02.2015

6 thoughts on “Want To Be

  1. globalunison says:

    Loved it!! Super-amazing, how easily we can wish for us to change for love.

    -Naima

    Like

  2. wbdeejay says:

    Love this poem in every way. It’s story of love is very strong.

    Like

  3. Madsies says:

    ❤ Hugs!

    Like

Leave a Reply

