Ageless

Ageless

One day, I’ll wake
sore and stiff
Feeble
My arms will ache
I’ll grope for my glasses
And my hands will shake
Hobble into the kitchen
Feed half a dozen cats and
Then feed myself
(It depends)
If I live to grow
That old, though
That’s not where I want
The picture to end

I want magnets on the fridge, with
Childish drawings, stick figures
You and me, and trees
A happy sun,
graduation pics
Reminders to call
Blood pressure meds, table top tablets
Probably paracetomol
For your knees, and mine
A wine cellar huge enough that
It takes us ages to find
The right one to polish off
When dinner’s done

One day, when
my mind has grown younger, and
My body has grown older
I might see the world differently
But I’ve already decided that
If I decide to stick around
And grow old
I’m only doing it
If you’re growing old with me

©CM
04.03.2015

11 thoughts on “Ageless

  1. daslater2013 says:

    Sounds like the perfect retirement 🙂 ❤

    Like

  2. globalunison says:

    Absolutely beautiful. I wish my one could stay up until my retirement but I think I will have to retire alone! Loved this one, Cookie ❤

    -Naima

    Like

  3. PapaBear says:

    “One day, I’ll wake
    sore and stiff
    Feeble
    My arms will ache
    I’ll grope for my glasses
    And my hands will shake
    Hobble into the kitchen…….”
    Cookie, you’ve been spying on me again !!!!!! 🙂

    Like

  4. Virginia says:

    Wow! I almost started bawling with this one. I definitely felt very strong emotion. Why am I embarrassed to type that? I shouldn’t be! Besides, lady love, it is YOUR fault ;p. You did it to me!!

    It is so hard for me to choose…but if I HAD to, I would pick this one right here to be my MOST FAVORITE POST by you!

    Like

  5. Madsies says:

    Whoa. That’s good hopes. Love it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

