A Song of Night

A Song of Night

I wanted to capture the sky for you
Leave it under your pillow at night
So you’d wake up to stars and a sliver of moon
Scattered like stardust delights
All over you like, the sweet morning dew
Which wakes up the hibiscus flowers
Slumbering soft outside your open window
Just after the witching hour
Chimes in the wind, dancing
Amidst the trees, glancing
He comes by when you are asleep
Rustling and whispering
Wholeheartedly concurring
You’re so beautiful, you make the willows weep
So sleep, sleep and dream, your
Eyelashes flutter as
Ripples drawn by waves in sands
Over smiles that come and go
Under mischievous twitching brows
A canvas drawn by God’s hand

I wanted to capture the sky for you
Weave the stars for you, and bottle the moon
It’s a futile endeavor, though
I doubt I’d even glance at them
With you
In the same
Room

Β©CM
24.03.2015

8 thoughts on “A Song of Night

  1. J.T.O'Sullivan says:

    Truly a beautiful piece. I don’t often comment or read poetry on WordPress but you continue to amaze me with every piece you write. Truly Beautiful. Full of emotion.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much, Josh. That’s so sweet of you to say. πŸ™‚ And I can’t claim all the credit. Someone just makes me write what I write. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • J.T.O'Sullivan says:

        You are very welcome. Without the need of rhyming throughout your work, your words still seize my heart with every syllable! My partner left me some weeks ago now and, even when they are gone, there are still poems to be written. I understand exactly what you mean. πŸ™‚

        Like

  2. globalunison says:

    So amazing!! I actually didn’t expect it to end like that. Thank you for sharing ❀

    -Naima

    Like

  3. daslater2013 says:

    Wow ! Such romanticism ❀️

    Like

  4. Madsies says:

    Love how it opens. So dreamy! ❀

    Like

Leave a Reply

