Fortress

Fortress

I built myself a fortress
With walls of sound
Closed myself inside
Screamed at whoever tried
To drag me out
Bricks of words and mortar of
Anger
Granite where
the emotions should have been
But I made sure the decibels hid
All feeling
And naught of me could be
Heard, or seen
And I raged and kicked and fought
To be let alone
Sealed in the stones, in the fortress of sound
And I’d thought I would heal
But I didn’t realize
That I’d be driven to insanity
Trapped in the silence

©CM
29.04.2015

9 thoughts on “Fortress

  1. PapaBear says:

    Prisons are never good places to heal, Cookie. . . . XO

    Like

  2. and yet, in the short time since our lives have intersected, I have seen a softening, a heartening, a strengthening…

    and I am stirred in hope for the amazing things that are coming in the future.

    Like

  3. Madsies says:

    Strength to you! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

