Look

Look

Look to the rushes
In the soft murmurs
At the mouth of river
Where the fishes
Sleep, lazy in the
Sun warmed water
In the hollow reeds, look
Look to the grass
Bending to the caress of the breeze
And you will see

Look to the ocean
Raging, roaring to shores
Another time, stealing placidly
To apologize
For tidal anger of
The night before
Look in the mornings
Where the dew drops are
Lost in the rain
Even though the lilies adore
Them both, equally,
Look, mute observer, into the dew drops
They are never really lost
And you will see

I am everywhere
In the turn of the wind and
Velvet of the sky
I am reborn a thousand times
For every tear in your eye
I am the silence of words, and
The words of silence
I am a blooming flower’s
Eloquence
And if you still can’t find Me
Look to the stars

For I am Love
I am wherever
You are

©CM
02.04.2015

20 thoughts on “Look

  1. Comment worthy POEM!!

    Like

  2. So, here is my heart think…for what it’s worth! Hopefully not meddling and thus wounding, so know my heart is to bless.

    So you are growing, and straining to get out of the sphere you have been growing into poetically. I see greater depth happening. I see that you are processing a ton o shite into diamonds, slowly but surely.

    Thus, the glints of diamonds are more and more obvious and common.

    But your old voice will end up choking you, and your old style will stymie who you are growing into. It reminds me of someone in my favorite activity (cycling) who is ready to make a mileage jump but doesn’t make the necessary preparation for the extra 20 miles (an hour and 20 minutes or so for me right now)…like more food and water, better form so I am not dying from muscular failure, proper clothing so my bum aint screaming like a horror movie.

    So often these days your poem starts out brilliantly…and then feels as if it sorta trails off at the end as if tired, or if it has the knock and is out of steam.

    The next thing, there are beautiful rhythms in your poems that are covered up by the flow of your conscious mind. I am guessing that you write all in a flow in the moment? I do too, that is why I am thinking that. But I learned to flow…and then return, reading out loud and careful, slow…and I would hear the rhythms there…and then start working. Honing. Connecting, Adding, taking away, whatever…just working the lil puppy.

    And it is quite likely that is just Charissa trying to make the poem into a Charissa-poem lol!!

    At any rate, please hear me, that it is the beautiful that wants to step up into the WOWSA place…so if you are totes happy with where you are now, it is fabulous and I for one will keep on drinking! It’s elixir, dear!

    Much much LOVE, my friend in words! Friend in heart! ❤
    Charissa

    Liked by 1 person

    • That is absolutely true, Charissa dear. That’s precisely what I’ve been struggling with, and why I was thinking that my words have gotten tired. So often I’ll start a poem but my time I end it, it feels a little lost. Nothing else seems to ‘fit’ that space but the words aren’t exactly sparklers either, so I just end up feeling like I’ve done a half assed job of it. It is most definitely NOT satisfying. :-/

      And wut! An hour and twenty? Jesus lady, you’re a superhero! :O

      Liked by 1 person

  3. omg…you nut! Sooo…if ya want? Maybe I will work sumfin over a bit and then email it to you private? First without comment, to see if you can sus out what I did and where I went? And then we can talk.

    Sere…the cycling metaphor is so apt, because usually it isn’t some big thing that brings breakthru, it is a small lil thing appropriated from someone who has ridden thru that patch, and knows a few places…

    I just keep seeing you…a decade into this thing, from now…and “Cookie Monstah” has become “Maker of Monstah Cookies”…a subtle but huge difference!

    You are so talented, and I take a bit of joy as a “diamond cutter of the soul”

    much love, sis…much love

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aww..
      Much love back at you! And
      I am gonna take you up on that!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Cooks…I sent you an email just now to the addy that you gave me. It is a pretty good massaging of this, and it turned out lovely, I think. take a peek? and if you like it, please post it without attribution. It’s your work Darling, I just mushed it around a bit.! ❤

        Oh, and if the email doesn't make it, lemme know and I can put it up on Grace Notes, your poem, my mushings, and then link here so you get some new readers! 😉

        Much Resurrection Love
        Charissa

        Liked by 1 person

    • A year later and I come back to see, my friend is infinitely wise I never even saw the changes in my style happen and yet you foretold them a year and a half ago. Lady, you could not dazzling us even if you tried.

      Liked by 1 person

      • You are infinitely worthy, and valuable. You are so amazing in you iron persistence and yet not hardened into hate.

        You ARE both making it AND GUNNA make it!

        From the prison out to the palace, where you will tell the stories of 1001 nights…

        Much MUCH love, respect, and so many prayers for you, oh highly esteemed one… That is utterly serious.

        I believe in you, sweetie 💞

        Liked by 1 person

      • We will make it, and another year from now I’ll come back here and reassert it- because now I can believe it what you said blindly.
        And maybe believe in myself a bit more too. Here’s to one more year, love. ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      • You are soo lovely… Made further comments fyi.

        MUAH! ❤

        Like

      • One thing is given to me by God, that I have a bit of the gift of forth-telling, and a smidge of foretelling… You’re the real deal Love

        Liked by 1 person

      • thank you- could you be more kind? I wonder if the people who actually live in your life know how lucky they are. ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      • And as you live in my heart, in the cottage there with the small hearth and the oven baking bread, and the bookshelf with that slim attractive cant to the right, loaded with Neruda, Oliver, Dickinson and Ole Will hissownself, well…maybe you might suspect that a prophetess never has honor in her own country. They all sniff my sweaty undies and stained armpits! lol

        Liked by 1 person

      • You are infinitely worthy, and valuable. You are so amazing in you iron persistence and yet not hardened into hate.

        You ARE both making it AND GUNNA make it!

        From the prison out to the palace, where you will tell the stories of 1001 nights…

        Much MUCH love, respect, and so many prayers for you, oh highly esteemed one… That is utterly serious.

        I believe in you, sweetie 💞

        Liked by 1 person

      • You are soo lovely… Made further comments fyi.

        MUAH! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  4. PapaBear says:

    One of the absolutely best things you’ve written for a long time, Cookie. Ya done good, gal !!!!! 🙂 Big Hugs !

    Liked by 1 person

  5. […] 2015: Distant Archer Poetry, Prose, Art and Creativity – I Keep My Secrets Midst the Stars calliopes lyre – Look Two Voices, One Song – Poetry 365: Cosmic Fireflies abstract happiness – two. – […]

    Like

  6. Madsies says:

    ❤ I love ya!

    Like

Leave a Reply

