Cheers To The Morning -Day Six

Cheers To the Morning
(Aubade)

It should’ve been morning, when I wrote this

It should’ve been morning when I wrote this
With fluttering curtains and chirping birds, sun kissed
Leaves pattering against the window pains, yes
It should’ve been morning, when I wrote this

But morning’s too far away to see
Midnight’s just left its tracks on me
The moon is inching across the sky
Watching my stasis mockingly

My stasis, my stagnation, my descent
Into a cyclic routine, spent
Midway through coffee and alcohol
Between bright lights and brick walls

Half a maddened run
Half a hopeless crawl

There is no time left in that clock
There are no paths here- where I walk
Is fixed in place, a carousel, and
that sweet music is my own Hell

I am a song stuck on repeat
Overachiever, under-replete
Defeat, beat, probably incomplete
Sleep deprived, so here I am
In the street

It should’ve been morning when I wrote this
I should’ve had a lover, a blanket, a kiss
Instead I got whiskey and a person to miss
Streetlight, starry night, some drunk taking a piss
It should’ve been morning when I wrote this

It should’ve been morning when I wrote this

©CM
06.04.2015

Day 6 of napowrimo! I didn’t feel like writing something lovey dovey, so here’s a grimmer one.

Make sure you have a smashing day though. No grim for you!

Cookie ❤

One thought on “Cheers To The Morning -Day Six

  1. Madsies says:

    Bleak, but nicely written.

    Like

Leave a Reply

