Yen

Yen

I’m a greedy person
There’s no denying it
No shame, either
I like my money
I’m a keeper
Sure, I’ll spend
Lavishly, if need be
But as a rule, I’m
Miserly

I won’t track pennies
-I’ll save pounds
My financial sense is
Extremely sound
I will unabashedly
Invest in Gucci
instead of a handful of handbags
On high street
But that’s me

That was till you, though
Money’s nothing but
Paper, anymore
I honestly never had a
‘shopping rush’
But I get it when I can
Buy you stuff
I want to earn
And spend it on you
Because there lies the value
Dollars come and go
Nowadays, I could care less
But your smile?
That glow of delight?
Now that’s priceless

©CM
07.04.2015

Day Seven of NaPoWriMo! The prompt was to write about something to do with money. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Yen

  1. C.C. says:

    A priceless smile….finding one of those is worth all the money in the world, truly 🙂 Enjoyed this delightful take on the NaPoWriMo prompt.

    Like

  2. Madsies says:

    Sweet! Things that love makes you do.

    Like

Leave a Reply

