To Be A Man

Be A Man

When I was a kid, all
I wanted to do was
To be tough
That was all I was concerned about,
Growing up
I kept a closer eye on the
Size of my biceps, not my waist
Far as I cared, it was a good thing
To gain weight
Stamina and endurance and
most of all, strength
I didn’t go shopping, I had
Push up competitions with friends
Different priorities, see
I wanted to be prepared
To be the man of the house
Whenever dad wanted to
take a swing at mum
-He’d have to deal with me
Dresses were for prissies
I took fistfights more seriously

So it’s an odd predicament,
Really
Because I’m grown up now
And I can’t be a woman
Cause I never learned how
To even be a girl
My schoolmates blossomed
Unfurled, each like a coquettish rose
Me?
I can outswear a drunk sailor’s whore

Out-drink aforementioned sailor too
‘Cause that’s what I learned to do
What I learned to be
And I don’t give two fucks
If no one takes me seriously

I give people balls of steel
To deal with, instead of being
Jaded, or wooden
Not being ‘girly’ isn’t a loss
When you can be a lady
Who puts the ‘man’
in woman.

©CM
27.05.2015

6 thoughts on “To Be A Man

  1. PapaBear says:

    Fabtastic, Cookie, but I think there’s bright young woman hiding behind the bravado! ! ! ! 😉

    Like

  2. Madsies says:

    Wow. That’s a stroooooong one!

    Like

  3. daslater2013 says:

    Oh !! Liking this offering sweet Poppy nicely done my friend ❤ ❤

    Like

  4. daslater2013 says:

    Sorry Cookie – (wrong person!!) haha 😜🌹

    Like

Leave a Reply

