Wanderlust 

Wanderlust 

My feet ache 

From walking in the same direction, every day

From turning through the same alleys

I have traced my footprints in the tarmac, 

Back and forth and back 

But the wildness in me grows restless

In this city 
I need grass, I need the sky 

So weary of this concrete am I 

That even the reds seem gray

Take me away, 

to where 

I can walk over pebbles, barefoot 

Stop at a completely unknown bend, to

Just sit and look 

Not a thought in sight 

Not a word in my head

Not a person I need to answer to,

Nothing to be said, and 

Not a road I know 
I need to go…. 

©CM

06.12.2015

3 thoughts on “Wanderlust 

  1. PapaBear says:

    If you find a direction that looks good and go straight ahead far enough, everything you see starts to look new and different…., and sometimes good !!! Hugs, Cookie Monster 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Madsies says:

    Beautifully pictured against the concrete jungle we live in. ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

