Mud 

  

Mud 

I let my fingers root through the mud

Coaxing the water to flow deeper in 

Rivulets lost, over the rocks, splashing

Shyly glancing off the tender buds

I let my fingers root through the mud 

The earth had been waiting for me 

It’s been so long since I knelt in the dirt 

I’d forgotten that her warmth helps me not hurt 

She’d remembered, kept the imprints of my knees 

The earth had been waiting for me 

I sat, hands grounded, letting the sun wash over 

There were roses once, ivy, a slender, timid jasmine

I grew up climbing the guava, the mandarin 

The trees left when our hearts did, the flowers surrendered to clover 

I sat, hands grounded, letting the sun wash over 

Life is coming back, though, in trickles, if not floods

The earth had been waiting for me, knowing that I was slower 

So I sat, hands grounded, letting the sun wash over

 The veins of the soil run with something richer than mere blood

Content, I let my fingers root through the mud

©CM 

13.12.2015

4 thoughts on “Mud 

  1. PapaBear says:

    Gotta have roots, Cookie. Soil and the earth are great beginnings. After all, it all started there…, with a little water to help things grow. Who knows, maybe some day mankind might even grow to maturity ! Hugs ! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Madsies says:

    Wow. The image produced is divine and so comfortable.

    Like

Leave a Reply

