Raphael

 

We walked, I knew not where
On the lips of the abyss we stood
Climbing, bleeding hand and foot,
Through the deepest of woods
Indeed, through the wraithing hollows themselves we fared
We walked,
I knew not where

The creatures wept at our passing
Pawing, kneading, grovelling,
They sheathed their claws and slavered- no
We forged ahead despite them,
There was still a long way to go
Past dyng echoes, till
The rivers ran out- we did not stop or despair
We still walked, I knew not where

And then the sand swallowed our shadows whole
The ground rolled like searing drops of gold
The wind howled, demented, but he still held my hand, and
We walked to a darkness no blazing sun could withhold
And the rocks yawned wide, the
Depths eddied like riptide
And the ground stood proud defender of the
Malice buried inside
And he showed me where he had lain
Whatever of my demons remained
And I knew, oh I knew,
I need never weep again
Because everything that had hurt me was
Entombed, forgotten, there
And I was free to walk, unscathed,
Anywhere, everywhere

And he walks with me still
Quietly watching, unassuming,
Holding my hand, my angel

Raphael…

 

 

 

 

‘Raphael’

(c)CM
09.02.2016

 

 

 

 

 

 
And again the Lord said to Raphael: “Bind Azazel hand and foot, and cast him into the darkness: and make an opening in the desert, which is in Dudael, and cast him therein. And place upon him rough and jagged rocks, and cover him with darkness, and let him abide there for ever, and cover his face that he may not see light.”

The Book of the First Enoch, 10:4–6

 

/Just a bit of inspired reading. You guys know me and my thing for angels. :p

 

Cheerio chin chin

Cookie ❤

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Raphael

  1. NEKNEERAJ says:

    I loved the tale, especially the third paragraph.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Madsies says:

    Really good build-up. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

