Regrets

I’d gotten accustomed to you
On the other side of the bed
Naked and wet
No distinction between where
I’d end, and you’d begin
Just skin, flowing into skin, surrounding skin
Splayed hands and tangled legs
Rumpled bedspreads
One day you’ll realize that
You shouldn’t have let me go
Love and loneliness make for
Restless bedfellows
I can hold my sorrow till you’ve
Learned to regret
Meanwhile, the night is long
Emptiness sings an eerie song
But I’ll make it to the morning
I have quite enough cigarettes

 

 

(c)CM
29.02.2016

 

 

 

Sometimes, two is company, one is a crowd.

What’s everyone up to? I barely hear from y’all anymore! Does my cookie basket need refilling? Yikes!

Starting soon, I’m embarking on a writing project with someone I know absolutely nothing about. That’s bound to be interesting… And I will keep y’all posted! Only if you do too, though. Send me every meaningful and meaningless thing in your heads. 😀

 

Lotsa cheers,

Cookie ❤

6 thoughts on “Regrets

  1. Micah Le Lann™ says:

    If some of remain silent,
    maybe that has got to do
    with how your superb writing
    leaves us just breathless &
    smiling with a nod of assent 😉

    Please do share your co-writing
    Project also, yes 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much, Micah!!(your name is awesome, btw. I want to make a hero out of it! 😀 ) It’s not even a week into the project and I’m already enjoying every bit of it. I definitely plan to put some of it up soon. 😀

      Hope you’re having a smashing week!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Micah Le Lann™ says:

        Y’see – you’re leaving people just speechless – even with compliments 🐬🐬🐬 And being out of words is not exactly the biggest advantage when one wants to be a writer 😉 Then again, I can’t image anything more thrilling than a blank page of white paper silently screaming in black and blue 😊 Have a big hug & an awesome week also — Amitiés, Micah 😊

        Like

  2. PapaBear says:

    Hi Cookie,
    I’ve been hiding in another world for a while, taking a break from everything and just observing and taking note of everything around me. It’s been an interesting revelation…, (I’ll not go into detail). So, I’m back on earth now and it’s just as beautiful, and as ugly as before. Hugs, darlin’ girl 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Madsies says:

    Regret. It’s like a natural revenge.

    Like

Leave a Reply

