In the Pursuit of… 

I hunted for her everywhere

I read books, followed inane maps,
Asked people who claimed they knew,
But perhaps,
It never is true, unless
You seek her yourself
I must confess, I was waylaid
Several times over, and it didn’t help
That I ran barefoot- yes, tender feet
For a mockery of bravery that pain
Couldn’t bother me

And I looked far and wide
Studied her rapidly fluctuating patterns,
In poems that said she hides
In fern, or tree, or glen
I asked a girl at a club, she laughed
Said she was in the pursuit of men
– or women, didn’t matter much
Whichever inflamed your loins, a touch
Of ecstasy, or meth
One man said, a good bottle of whiskey
Another, an uncharted journey

-wait, what?

As you can see, thoroughly confused
I ran my mind through all the possibilities
I’d perused
-I’d achieved naught, and indeed, was more
Distraught, than when I’d begun
So I quit the pursuit, sat down, and
Just let things be
– and she came tiptoeing around!

Turns out, she’d
Been walking behind me, all along
Waiting for me to slow down

 

 

 

‘In The Pursuit Of Happiness’

© CM

03.04.2016

 

 

 

Day Three of NaPoWriMo!! Tag me in your stuff, guys! 😀

4 thoughts on “In the Pursuit of… 

  1. Madsies says:

    Real nice. Reminds me of a Quote on my bedroom wall, “Life moves pretty fast, If you don’t stop and look around once in a while you could miss it.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

