Tea For Two

Tea for Two

 

 

 

Food for thought, then, and
Philosophy for dessert
His jewel bright eyes flickered, as he tore the bread
With easy fingers
Slid the cold mug aside fluidly
Ladled the fragrant gravy
Winced in the direction of the buttery peas
And pushed the tureen towards me
Nodded appreciatively
“You talk too much! Eat, eat!”
I sipped my beer, calm, bemused
This was a vision of subliminal thrills
This banquet for two, yet untouched by one,
Was not what I needed my appetite, to still
Indeed
– I had quite another capacity to fill
I leaned back and memorized, the
Graceful flurry, the knife
Dancing elegantly over coq au vin, disguised
Behind steamed vegetables, speared through
-Like with his words
No gesture misconstrued, no whisper misheard
The flavor of the day was not basil, nor thyme
It was not the plates I studied, exquisite, sublime,
He was a starving woman’s ultimate ideal
of company

Because I wasn’t hungry,
But
I was hungry

©CM
06.04.2016

 

 

 

 

Day Six of ‪#‎NaPoWriMo‬! I distinctly remember doing this prompt last year. That would be a more impressive feat of I could remember what day of the week it is, too.

So… Two for tea, and tea for two- or tea for one, when that ‘one’ provides quite enough food for thought.

Cheers!

5 thoughts on “Tea For Two

  1. ewdupler says:

    Wow! It wasn’t just the vegetables that are steamy in this poem. This was very nicely done.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Madsies says:

    Thoroughly enjoyable spread.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

