Not Feared 

Not Feared 

I always wanted to be loved

And a little feared 

Or at least intimidating 

The kind of girls who hear, oh

You don’t want to mess with her, so

Commanding, riveting 

Instead of, as my sister says, 

A teddy bear/dumpling 

And agreed, it’s a bit hard to be

Taken seriously 

When you’re shrimp sized 

And squeaking, “Fear me!!”

So I gave up on

That particular ambition 

But I still wanted to be loved

A little desperately 

Did the people pleasing bit

Learned that most are inherently bitter 

Use and throw is the world goes

Kindness doesn’t too much better 

But the thing is, Fate has fickle moods 

And I found real love precisely where 

I never even hid my worst attitudes

I suppose we can never predict what’s

Coming to us, ever 

Go figure, I didn’t get ‘loved’ or even 

‘Feared’

Instead 

I got revered 🙂 

©CM

09.04.2016

Day Nine of NaPoWriMo. Today’s prompt is a poem that’s a bit of a confession. 
-Or just another excuse to smile about all the things I have to be grateful for. 😋
Hugs,

Cookie ❤️

3 thoughts on “Not Feared 

  1. alb29oclfl says:

    excellent

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Madsies says:

    Much revere for this poem. ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

