Maenad

Why don’t they sing of
moonlight madness?
Of clutching your hair, swaying
In the impenetrable darkness, below
A black sky, heedless
Of the wet grass, of your wayward steps
Driven utterly feckless by
The music of the hollow eyed
Starving night
This must be how the sirens learnt their wailing
Crooning dumbstruck sailors to their doom

Look, my hands are empty and
My blind eyes overflowing, yet
My feet follow some unknown tune
Thrumming in my veins, my bones
This song of a sky with no moon

Maenad

©CM
17.07.2016

9 thoughts on “Maenad

  1. Keep up the good work, love it

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Madsies says:

    The moon never fails to delight me. ❤ This is a gorgeous piece!

    Like

  3. THAT is my Cookie Monstah! Brilliant and unfettered! See what happens when you jus flow?? 🙂
    Love this!

    Like

  4. PapaBear says:

    I think the girl has finally broken through the wall and become a woman. Beautiful writing, Cookie. Hugs. 🙂

    Like

  5. uzeem says:

    “Thrumming in my veins, my bones
    This song of a sky with no moon” this line drives me to another universe 👍 such a good work loved it 👌

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

