Sidewalk Daisies 

  

Walk with me, searching happily for

A sliver of of unpolluted sky 

A daisy pushing through the cement 

A salty wisp of wind, seaward sent 

Between the billboards screaming

 for attention, I know

The pale drowned moon catches your eye 

There is still music here, amidst the honking 

Still graceful greens, in the flaunting 

Storefronts, I know you see

These things still retain clarity, for 

You and me

Getting drunk off experiences will 

Always be headier than

Merely getting drunk, will 

We’re like an endangered species, hiding

In this concrete jungle 

Sidewalk Daisies 

©CM 

13.10.2016

5 thoughts on “Sidewalk Daisies 

  1. rain poet says:

    I hope you will visit me and see what you think of a poem about daisies called The Sampler 🙂 Nice to have found you anyway!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love this💕I just imagine this one daisy 💜Pushing through to be loved I so adore your writing .

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Madsies says:

    Can totally relate. And how beautifully written! Just made my day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

