Prague 

  

The snow was gray 

Even as it fell 

Ashen snowflakes settling 

With the rusty peals of dusty bells

Gargoyles leering, the spires towered over me

As I stood in a quiet lane through

The middle of my abandoned city

Tongue out, tasting the bitter flakes  

And the ghosts followed me softly 

From the corners, damp and mildewed 

I lead them, I don’t know where 

Somewhere where the snow softer spreads

Under our feet

It is white

It is quiet there

And we are not defeated 

By that lurking within our heads 

We populate 

This city of the dead

With its dull snow and arid rains

Where memories spiral high against 

A horizon, yet near, of pain

One day

I will walk away from this place 

Proud and unbroken

If not untarnished, in me

The old world still remains

Prague 

©CM

19.02.2017

3 thoughts on “Prague 

  1. andy1076 says:

    I didn’t get to say it before but I’m happy to see you back to wp again posting your beautiful words 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

