The Devil and I 

I don’t mind the Devil 

He lies, he spits venom

Drinks too much 

Sometimes he sets my home on fire

But he’s honest, doing everything in his power to 

Lead me astray 

Still, we’re okay, the Devil and I

With him, I know where I stand 

It’s a process, but

It’s okay 

It’s these crooked halos I don’t understand 

All the good people around me, whose rot I can smell 

a page of reality away 

What kind of God’s golden children are they

The purity doesn’t fit, their wings are all wrong 

I read the Devil was an angel 

It makes sense why he left 

Even I can see that he didn’t belong 

The Devil and I 
©CM 

22.03.2017

Better the Devil we know… (very well). 

Leave a Reply

