Day 19- Home Is Where… 

Home Is Where 

I didn’t know much about the world

Or myself, for that matter 

I took gratefully, what I was given 

I didn’t know anything better 

even existed, for people like me

Who are damaged so thoroughly 

That we stand in front of mirrors 

And dissect our entirety

No one taught me strength 

I doubt I could’ve discerned  

I drifted aimlessly, accepting 

Scraps for the blessings they weren’t 

When debasement is a norm, and

indifference the only recompense 

The heart grows silently sicker 

Without respect for its defense 

I hadn’t known that I deserved 

More, that what i was shown

I thought love belonged in parked cars 

But you

-you took me home. 

It’s strange, how big the world is

When you don’t feel small anymore 

Maybe, I can build my shelter, now 

That you’ve already opened the door 

©Yusra 

19.04.2017 

Leave a Reply

